Percentage columns no longer display | |
All selected shots are removed from in Shotlist Overview context menu | |
A hang while adding multiple new shots has been fixed |
View the percentage of files which are rated or tagged in the sidebar | |
Show rated and tagged percentages as table columns in the Shotlist Overview | |
Optionally show Guided Import when making new documents | |
Additional logging when uncommon errors occur | |
Folder watching has graduated from an experimental feature |
In this update First Contact now reads metadata from your images. Color tags and star ratings can now be shown in the image label, including several options for the display style. The metadata now powers image sorting, allowing photos to be sorted after import, including the ability to manually order in the sidebar.
Finally there are the requisite unspecified Bug Fixes & Improvements.
Color tag and rating can be shown in the image label | |
Pressing escape in the sidebar will deselect selected images | |
Images can be manually ordered in the sidebar | |
Images can be sorted via metadata properties | |
Images can be vertically centered | |
Image labels can be aligned on each row | |
The contact sheet can now be printed | |
The Help menu now has links to the Knowledge Base, Account Page, and social media accounts | |
Added a little breathing room between the image and label | |
Rendering progress sheet can no longer be dismissed | |
Contact sheet preview expands when increasing window size | |
Changing the number of columns correctly updates the preview |
Added a preference for showing filename extensions in the table view | |
Copy Scan Filename toolbar button is now hidden by default | |
Take Stock will check for new releases if running an expired beta | |
Toolbar buttons are enabled correctly based on application state | |
Copy Scan Filename toolbar button can be customized |
In additional to a host of bug fixes this release includes a brand new onboarding flow to help new users start using Take Stock. It guides users through creating their first camera, lens, & film stock as well as importing over thirty common film stocks to get started. There are also now toolbar buttons for actions like copying the scan name, importing photos, and writing metadata.
Finally there are a number of visual improvements throughout the app. The aperture format style and viewer background can be customized from Preferences, the ISO format is consistent without a comma, and lens selection in the Camera Sidebar has been fixed.
P.S. Take Stock now has its own Mastodon account, give it a follow for updates and behind-the-scenes on development.
A new onboarding view has been added for new users | |
Toolbar buttons for command actions | |
A preference for the aperture style | |
Image viewer includes film roll in title bar | |
Image viewer now has a configurable background color | |
More information is provided if Take Stock can’t write metadata | |
The Help menu command now links to the Knowledge Base | |
Useful links for Take Stock in the help menu | |
Collections can be renamed | |
Folders no longer accept dropped images | |
Shutter speed is written to additional tags to expand software compatibility | |
Cancelling creating a new film stock no longer creates a blank film | |
Film Roll inspector controls have the correct styling when there are no rolls | |
Folder & images can now be dropped onto the sidebar | |
ISO speeds are correctly formatted without commas in all cases | |
Lenses assigned to multiple cameras are no longer all selected in the Camera sidebar | |
The capture date is formatted correctly | |
Write errors are shown after first attempt |
This release greatly improves the metadata around film stocks and development. Custom development processes can be defined in Preferences, exposure compensation has been added to note pushing or pulling your film, and white balance tags now reflect the values chosen in the film stock. Additionally, each film roll can also define the source of digitization.
When batch scanning Take Stock now automatically picks up on new files for folder-based film rolls.
Customize the list of available film processes | |
The film process is included in the Software tag | |
White Balance and Light Source tags are written based on film stock | |
File Source tag for film rolls Choose between a film scanner, digital camera, or flatbed scanner as the source of the scan. I don’t know of any software which displays this tag, but that’s hardly the point. | |
Choose the sort order of film stock in menus | |
Quickly change the film roll date advance with a stepper | |
Enter pushed or pulled development times as Exposure Compensation | |
Images are automatically added or removed from a Roll when the folder changes | |
Focal length & aperture from fixed lenses are displayed in the table view | |
The date advance picker matches the value | |
Metadata Inspector sections are more clearly defined | |
Setting the loaded film in the camera edit view now works correctly | |
The date picker for photos is correctly enabled based on pinned date | |
The capture date in the Metadata Inspector shows the correct date when auto-advance is enabled | |
Columns in the main table view can be sorted | |
The Metadata Inspector columns no longer shift based on selection | |
A possible crash during database migration has been fixed | |
The thumbnail is correctly regenerated when a file is renamed |
This release reorganizes the UI by moving the film rolls from tabs at the top of the table to a sidebar column, along with other library items. Additionally when writing metadata each roll shows a determinate progress bar.
Take Stock will now confirm when deleting cameras, lenses, and film stocks from the library. Additionally the inspectors can be navigated from the menu bar.
The exposure text fields have also been fixed, allowing values like f/5.6 to be entered correctly.
Metadata inspector placeholder styling has been improved | |
Clicking the license activation link works correctly | |
The keyboard shortcut for making a new lens is no longer the same as a new camera | |
Scanning filename no longer has a trailing space | |
Duplicate Sidebar and inspector commands have been removed from View menu |
This is a small bug-fix update to address several layout issues in contact sheets. The biggest fix is the removal of extra spacing between images, especially noticeable when trying to create a layout without any margin.
Text can expand to fill more space in the header and footer | |
Page size text fields no longer move cursor while typing | |
There is no longer extra space between images | |
Icons in the menu bar have been banished |
License activation UI should no longer be disabled | |
Inspector width has been increased so scrollbars aren’t clipped |
Capturebot now includes comprehensive shot status tracking based on whether a shot has capture and processed files. Shots can also be marked as Dropped, rather than deleting them from the shotlist. The status is shown in the Shotlist Overview with an indicator.
There are new tokens which help match more complex paths, especially those with nested components like a Plates folder inside a shot folder.
Finally there are numerous improvements to the user interface to make Capturebot easier to use.
Shot status tracking | |
Shots can be marked as Dropped | |
Shot status is shown as a colored dot in the Shotlist Overview | |
Export folders for each shot using the capture pattern | |
The Shotlist Overview now supports multi-selection | |
Match subfolder with the Optional Folder token | |
Parent Folder Name token is now available as a Capture token | |
Tooltip for shots in the sidebar now includes the status | |
Shot name, nickname, and set list can be edited directly from the Shotlist Overview table | |
Show in Capture One changed to Select in Capture One | |
Menu commands which open modals now have their ellipses | |
Shot name text field focus ring is no longer cut off in inspector | |
Files are now correctly shown in Capture One |
This release reorganizes the UI by moving the film rolls from tabs at the top of the table to a sidebar column, along with other library items. Additionally when writing metadata each roll shows a determinate progress bar.
Take Stock will now confirm when deleting cameras, lenses, and film stocks from the library. Additionally the inspectors can be navigated from the menu bar.
The exposure text fields have also been fixed, allowing values like f/5.6 to be entered correctly.
Film rolls now show a determinate progress bar when writing metadata | |
Navigate the inspector tabs with keyboard shortcuts from the View menu | |
Photos can be removed from a roll via the context menu | |
Pressing escape will deselect items in table or sidebar | |
Create a new film roll from File > New | |
Deleting cameras, lenses, and film stocks asks for confirmation | |
Film rolls are now shown in the sidebar | |
Bottom bar uses correct text style | |
Film stocks are sorted by speed in menus | |
The keyboard shortcuts for adding new cameras, lenses, and film stocks have changed | |
Exposure setting fields no longer attempt to format while typing | |
Film rolls can now be removed with the minus button | |
Menu items which open a dialogue are correctly annotated with ellipses | |
Metadata is correctly written after changing values after previously writing metadata |
The first release of the year brings new features, bug fixes, and quality of life improvements. Thank you to everyone who’s been testing the beta and shared feedback!
The headlining feature is the option to group shots in the sidebar by either their set list or shot status to help organize larger shoots. The Set List allows for nesting grouping by using path-style name like Day One/Location One. Grouping by Shot Status organizes shots based on whether they have capture files, output files, or both.
There are also now a comprehensive set of actions that can be performed from the context menu on shots in the sidebar or Shotlist Overview. Additionally there are several new tokens to help match both capture and output files including a Document Name token and Rating and Color Tag tokens.
Color Tag token now matches correctly on case-sensitive filesystems | |
The grouping mode selection state correctly matches the actual state |
The first release of the year brings new features, bug fixes, and quality of life improvements. Thank you to everyone who’s been testing the beta and shared feedback!
The headlining feature is the option to group shots in the sidebar by either their set list or shot status to help organize larger shoots. The Set List allows for nesting grouping by using path-style name like Day One/Location One. Grouping by Shot Status organizes shots based on whether they have capture files, output files, or both.
There are also now a comprehensive set of actions that can be performed from the context menu on shots in the sidebar or Shotlist Overview. Additionally there are several new tokens to help match both capture and output files including a Document Name token and Rating and Color Tag tokens.
Document Name token | |
Rating and Color Tag tokens in output tokens | |
Output filename extension token | |
Inspector shows the number of shots which are shot and un-shot | |
Set shots as the capture folder from the sidebar | |
Add and remove shots from Capture One favorites from the sidebar | |
Context menu for Unassigned Files | |
Context menu for Shotlist Overview | |
Shotlist can now be grouped by either set list or shot status | |
Advanced preference pane with power user options and experimental features | |
Unassigned files show the full path in the session | |
File count is shown in the shotlist tooltip | |
Opening documents has been optimized | |
Show output file paths is a advanced preference | |
Showing regex preview is now an advanced preference | |
Capture folder monitoring is now in the experimental section | |
Sidebar context menu items are enabled correctly | |
The Output Pattern created with Guided Import will always have a name | |
Shot Name Column in Guided Import now has a default value | |
Importing metadata automatically is correctly enabled for new installs | |
Shutter Speed column no longer truncates header text | |
Indexing folders on macOS Tahoe correctly matches files | |
Document window is correctly sized for Tahoe | |
Icons in the menu bar have been banished |
Fixed a bug where files wouldn’t be matched to shots. | |
Sidebar buttons in Session Settings have the correct styling. | |
Fix crash when indexing folder while viewing a file list. | |
Files can now be shown in the Finder. |
User presets for capture & output patterns | |
Add, edit, and delete presets from Capturebot preferences | |
Choose default capture and output patterns for new documents | |
When your shotlist is empty a helper arrow shows you where to import shots | |
The capture folder is indexed automatically after importing a shotlist | |
Session folders now properly handle moves to external drives | |
Selecting session folders now defaults to the document folder | |
New documents will default to reading metadata automatically | |
+ button in the sidebar now presents a menu with import options | |
The Preferences window now matches the app theme | |
Changing output pattern name no longer reverts tokens to a previous state | |
Minus buttons in sidebars are easier to click | |
Dragging folders onto session folder pickers correctly sets the folder | |
Dragging folders onto session folder in Guided Import refreshes the folder table | |
Button states in Guided Import are enabled correctly | |
Import from Text File is enabled correctly |
Change film roll tabs from the Window menu | |
Film roll numbers count starting from | |
Closing film roll tabs correctly selects another roll | |
Opening images in a new roll works again | |
Adding a new film roll from the menu bar now selects the roll |
Open shot folders in Capture One | |
The total shot count is now shown in the inspector | |
Control whether file count badges are shown in the sidebar from the View menu | |
Counters are appended to new shots and matching patterns as needed | |
Missing Output filter button has been moved to the accessory bar | |
Capture file paths must match the full Capture Pattern | |
An error is shown if a shot can’t be saved when changing the name or nickname | |
Changing Output Pattern formats now correctly regenerates file lists | |
Output file paths can be shown in the table again |
The initial public release! | |
Updater can correctly update from beta to release | |
The app icon no longer has its beta sash |
New Page menu for page settings | |
Match all fonts to the header, footer, or labels via the Page menu | |
Images & folders can be dropped into the PDF preview area | |
Remove all images via the Edit menu | |
Menu commands and shortcuts for setting rows and columns | |
Menu commands to toggle header, footer, and image labels | |
App now has a custom control accent color | |
Remove images by right-clicking on them | |
A4 page preset is now landscape like other page presets | |
US Letter layout preset sets the correct paper size | |
Images with alpha channels (like PNGs) now render correctly | |
PDF size now displays the Zero kB after removing all images | |
Settings groups are aligned correctly when collapsed | |
Image thumbnails update correctly when removing images | |
Sidebar toolbar divider appears when scrolling | |
Trial/beta will only show once in the toolbar | |
Metric page size preset dimensions are calculated correctly |
Fix an issue that would prevent First Contact from restoring its license |
New trials don’t pixelate the preview image. |
A preference for whether to auto-start displays streams | |
Add preference to hide main display by default | |
Brand new rendering engine! The screen preview rendering pipeline has been rewritten to be more efficient and reliable | |
Crosshairs are shown across all displays, not just the one the mouse is in | |
Crosshairs always track the mouse, even if display previews are paused | |
Display preview windows can be minimized with ⌘M | |
Crosshairs are rendered in the correct position on secondary monitors | |
The HUD popover preference has been deprecated, popovers always use HUD-style windows |
Customizable grids inside frame lines | |
Background fill for frame lines | |
Background color for the image | |
One of those nifty alpha grid patterns because this is a graphics app now | |
Moved document and frame line controls into tabs | |
The Set Overlay button now works with Capture One 23 | |
Finally removed the frame line edit popover |
Filenames can be imported from RTF documents | |
Invisible characters are stripped from filenames. | |
Fixed an error in fun folder count collection |
About screen credits | |
Get Info command in the frame line context menu | |
Buttons to add and remove frame lines | |
Button and menu item to rotate a frame line | |
Guidelines Help now links to the Knowledge Base | |
New documents start with a default ratio | |
Better frame line list interactions The list is now based on | |
Set Overlay button and menu command correctly set their state | |
The plus and minus buttons on each row have been removed |
New standard layouts paper sizes and grids | |
Save and apply layout presets from the Layout menu | |
Select the default layout and metadata in preferences | |
Support for Undo & Redo | |
Image quality is more granular with controls for quality and compression | |
Fix alignment of | |
The status bar divider can’t be dragged anymore |
Select the layout units from the View menu Choose between Inches, Millimeters, and Points. | |
There’s a label indicating where to drop files | |
Set the PDF title, author, and subject The title is used as the default filename. | |
Added padding to controls for cleaner visual hierarchy | |
PDF no longer auto-renders on settings change This prevents the PDF rendering while in the middle of making a change. The PDF can be manually rendered as needed and will be rendered when exporting if needed. | |
Minimum version of macOS is now 11.3 | |
Focus ring is no longer clipped on text fields |
The initial release! 🎉 |
Construct filenames using tokens Tokens allow you to customize exported filenames with information about the file, date & time, and most importantly imported file headers. | |
Create nested folders for each filename | |
Anonymously submit the number of folders created online. Help me eventually be able to put an ‘Over One Million Folders Made’ banner on the website :) | |
Improved filename parsing performance |
A bug which caused a crash on launch for new users. |
A configurable global shortcut for toggling the popover | |
Toggle a display by pressing its associated number key on the keyboard | |
Create a separate display window using ⌘ and the display number | |
The Send Feedback menu item now works | |
One license is now valid for a machine, rather than account If you’ve activated ScreeningRoom on more than one account you should deactivate all other users before updating. | |
Windows can now be closed with ⌘W |
Edit and delete additional filenames | |
Create a repeated filename with an index | |
Manual filenames now conditionally have whitespace trimmed | |
Filename processing order Trimming characters happens to the input filename.Text case now takes priority over whitespaces, which allows CamelCasing filenames. | |
Whitespace & illegal characters replacements use the same order | |
Minor UI refinements | |
Character trim text fields render correctly on macOS Monterey |
Display crosshairs over the cursor | |
Take a screenshot of all displays from the menu bar | |
Change stream scale from preferences | |
Option to float preview windows | |
Default resolution scale is now ½ instead of ¼ | |
Popover window is now a HUD panel Testing this out as an alternative to the full window. There’s a preference for it. | |
You no longer have to click twice to start a stream | |
A possible crash when disconnecting a display |
A crash when opening preferences |
A crash when launching the app on Catalina |
A trial badge to make trial status easier to understand | |
Right click to make a separate window for a display | |
Updater in preferences | |
Previews are now real-time Removing the slight delay doesn’t appear to have changed the RAM usage and provides for a better experience. | |
A crash when trying to view your license | |
Windows can no longer be scaled to nothing |
An issue where the stream would stop when detaching the popover for the first time | |
Reduced memory footprint by 1.5x |
Support for pasting files and text directly into the app | |
Open files from context menus and by dropping them onto the Dock icon | |
Copy filenames from the Edit menu | |
Trim characters from the beginning and end of filenames |
Popover now detaches into a resizable window | |
Display previews now match the layout in System Preferences |
Row numbers to the filename list | |
Open files from “File -> Open” | |
Export folders from “File -> Export Folders” | |
Filter out duplicate filenames | |
Clarify “File -> New” menu command | |
Parsing large files no longer blocks the UI | |
Manual can be added without importing a CSV | |
New Filename sheet responds to shortcuts as expected | |
A crash when opening the preferences window | |
Option to ignore illegal characters |
Option to set row delimiters | |
Pad digits within filenames | |
Manually add filenames without importing a file | |
Transform filename case | |
Use entire row by selecting “None” as the filename header | |
Ignore table names by selecting the header row | |
Render digits as monospace for clarity | |
Errors are less intrusive while changing settings |
Import CSV, TSV, and text files | |
Set import and export settings | |
Export Capture folders |